Home » Contemplations » Cave Men & Abortion

Cave Men & Abortion

Lately, whenever I read or watch news about current events, all I see are things relating to women’s reproductive rights. All I see are men trying to make laws about birth control, contraceptives, and abortion. I don’t want to go into deep detail about bills and laws. My main question is, who the hell has the right to make these laws? Why are people even trying to intrude on the business of others? I don’t feel that I have the right to tell anyone what to do with their bodies, and I feel that no one has the right to tell me what to do with mine. Forming laws about reproductive rights and denying these rights to women is equally as terrible as female genital mutilation in other countries. Those women have their options taken away, they don’t get a choice about what happens to their bodies. I don’t see any difference between that and taking our rights away. Some may see these as extreme opposites but I do not. That is the degree of disgust I have with the mere idea of people trying to make laws about our bodies. I have a theory though.

I keep trying to think of why men, especially, would think that they have any right to make laws against abortion (because I just must find an explanation). Then I remind myself that almost everything we do can be tied back to evolution. Daily, men produce several hundred million sperm. Women are born with about seven million eggs and release only one per month. Because of their excess of reproductive fluids, men feel the need to spread their seed. Many people blame cheating on this fact. They want their seed spread far and wide. They want their genes to be carried on forever and ever and to never die off. Women, on the other hand, have to choose carefully who they mate with because they have a limited supply of eggs. They don’t want to waste their eggs on a man who can’t or won’t support them (or on a complete idiot, because… come on). So back to abortion and why men seem to hate it more than anybody. I am concluding that it’s because they are threatened by it. We have a way to control who we mate with, or when we mate with them, and they hate that. I’m wondering when we will evolve and be able to move past this cave man crap.

I can think of theories all day as to why people act the way they do. Unfortunately, this doesn’t change anything. It doesn’t make it okay for anyone to make these decisions about women. Life is hard and complicated enough without laws about our reproductive rights. Leave my uterus alone and think about something that really matters. Help starving children, make schools better, and stop wasting your money on something you have no business thinking about.

Side note: Men does not = all men (because I like to cover my ass).

Leave a Reply

